Service booking hotline: 0333 222 8335
Online Service booking
| Chat Online
The Audi Range

Audi R10 TDI - a history maker

AUDI AG wrote an important chapter in the history of motor racing with its historic triumph in the 2006 Le Mans 24 Hour race. The Audi R10 TDI was the first diesel car to win arguably the toughest car race in the world. In front of a record crowd of 235,000 spectators, Frank Biela (Germany), Emanuele Pirro (Italy) and Marco Werner (Germany).

Although the roll-out of the new Audi R10 TDI took place only 200 days before the race, the victorious Diesel sportscar ran as reliably for 24 hours as its predecessor, the R8 that scored five Le Mans victories.

Meanwhile Dindo Capello (Italy), Tom Kristensen (Denmark) and Allan McNish (Scotland) achieved third place overall at Le Mans that year, the trio having scored a debut race win in the R10 TDI in the Sebring 12 Hours three months earlier.

Audi also become the first manufacturer to win all races in a season in the LM P1 class of the American Le Mans Series. Dindo Capello and Allan McNish clinched the Drivers’ title, winning seven times outright and eight LM P1 class wins which also brought the Teams and Manufacturers titles once more in their R8 (using FSI petrol injection technology) and R10 TDI.

Further race victories at Le Mans followed in 2007 & ’08 for the R10 TDI. Additionally, the Audi R10 TDI won the American Le Mans Series (2007 & ’08) and also the Manufacturer’s title in the European-based Le Mans Series in 2008.

Of course, this same race-winning TDI technology is also available across the entire Audi range.

Navigate to related content